Back to all publications
Nov 21, 2018

An Update on Multiple Wills

By Elisabeth V. Atsaidis, Jack Bernstein, Rachel L. Blumenfeld, Stuart F. Bollefer, Donald Carr, Ed Esposto, David Malach, Andrea McEwan, Marni Pernica, Elise M. Pulver and Melanie A. Yach

On October 18, 2018, Aird & Berlis LLP issued an advisory on the recent decision of the Ontario Superior Court of Justice in Re Milne Estate and its potential impact on planning that was put in place to reduce or avoid the Estate Administration Tax (“Probate Tax”). Re Milne Estate focused on the use of multiple wills – often referred to as Primary and Secondary Wills – to reduce or avoid probate tax. While the decision did not invalidate the use of multiple wills, it found that the particular wording of the Primary Will in that case resulted in a finding that the will was invalid because of the manner in which the primary and secondary estates were defined. Re Milne Estate is currently under appeal. Until the appeal is heard, estate practitioners have been inviting their clients to contact them to determine whether their plan was affected by the decision.

Then, on November 13, 2018, the Ontario Superior Court of Justice issued a decision in Re Panda Estate, which also deals with the use of multiple wills to reduce Probate Tax. In that case, the judge granted the application for probate of the Primary Will. The judge in Re Panda Estate expressly rejected the reasoning and factual analysis employed by his colleague in Re Milne Estate.

Estate practitioners are now faced with two competing decisions at the same level of Court which are arguably conflicting. While Re Panda Estate does not overrule Re Milne Estate, estate practitioners across the province have welcomed the decision and are hopeful that the appellate court will consider the judge’s reasoning in Re Panda Estate when it rules upon the Re Milne Estate appeal.

If you have executed multiple wills, we welcome you to contact your lawyer at Aird & Berlis or a member of our Estates Group if you have any questions.

Those members are: 
Elisabeth Atsaidis 416.865.7753 eatsaidis@airdberlis.com
Jack Bernstein 416.865.7766 jbernstein@airdberlis.com
Rachel Blumenfeld 416.865.3413 rblumenfeld@airdberlis.com
Stuart Bollefer 416.865.3079 sbollefer@airdberlis.com
Donald Carr 416.865.3429 dcarr@airdberlis.com
Ed Esposto 416.865.7786 eesposto@airdberlis.com
David Malach 416.865.7702 dmalach@airdberlis.com
Andrea McEwan 416.865.3444 amcewan@airdberlis.com
Marni Pernica 416.865.7738 mpernica@airdberlis.com
Elise Pulver 416.865.7758 epulver@airdberlis.com
Melanie Yach 416.865.7770 myach@airdberlis.com

Areas of Expertise

Related Publications

Publications Article
COVID-19 and the Workplace: Remote Working Legal Considerations and Recommendations By Fiona Brown, Michael F. Horvat and Daria (Dasha) Peregoudova May 26, 2020 COVID-19 continues to disrupt workplaces across the country and a return to “normal” could be mon... COVID-19 continues to disrupt workplaces across the country and a return to “normal” could be months away. As employees remain sequestered, many businesses will have to maintain remote working conditions for a much longer time, and to a much larger group of employees, than ...
Publications Article
Reopening Your Business in a Post-COVID-19 World By David S. Reiter May 26, 2020 Lately, there has been a lot of discussion about what businesses need to be thinking about and do... Lately, there has been a lot of discussion about what businesses need to be thinking about and doing as we all, hopefully, start to emerge from the throes of the global pandemic. On its face, the conversation can seem complicated and multifaceted. For example, how will we interact with one anothe...
Publications Article
COVID-19 Travel Restrictions and Tax Residency Relief By Louise R. Summerhill and Jesse L. Waslowski May 22, 2020 On May 19, the Canada Revenue Agency released guidance respecting potential unexpected tax reside... On May 19, the Canada Revenue Agency released guidance respecting potential unexpected tax residency consequences resulting from the travel restrictions around COVID-19.