skip to main content




Back to all news
Oct 18, 2018
Firm News

Multiple Wills – An Important Notification

A decision on September 11, 2018, by the Ontario Superior Court of Justice known as “Re Milne” may affect planning you have put in place to reduce the Estate Administration Tax (“probate tax”).

Where a person has multiple Wills – often referred to as Primary and Secondary Wills – prepared in order to reduce probate tax, the decision may put the planning in jeopardy. While the decision did not invalidate the concept of multiple Wills, it found that the particular wording in the Wills before the Court invalidated the Primary Will because of the manner in which the assets covered by that Will were defined. It is not clear whether this case will affect the validity of all types of multiple Wills.

While the decision is being appealed, it is not likely to be heard for some time.

If you have executed multiple Wills, we recommend that you contact your lawyer at Aird & Berlis or a member of our Estates Group.

Those members are:

Elisabeth Atsaidis 416.865.7753 eatsaidis@airdberlis.com
Jack Bernstein 416.865.7766 jbernstein@airdberlis.com
Rachel Blumenfeld 416.865.3413 rblumenfeld@airdberlis.com
Stuart Bollefer 416.865.3079 sbollefer@airdberlis.com
Donald Carr 416.865.3429 dcarr@airdberlis.com
Ed Esposto 416.865.7786 eesposto@airdberlis.com
David Malach 416.865.7702 dmalach@airdberlis.com
Andrea McEwan 416.865.3444 amcewan@airdberlis.com
Marni Pernica 416.865.7738 mpernica@airdberlis.com
Elise Pulver 416.865.7758 epulver@airdberlis.com
Melanie Yach 416.865.7770 myach@airdberlis.com

Areas of Expertise

Related News

News Firm News
Aird & McBurney | Aird & Berlis IP Professionals Recognized in IAM Patent 1000 Erica L. Lowthers, PhD, Kitt Sinden, M.Sc., Lola A. Bartoszewicz, PhD, Kimberly A. McManus, PhD, Timothy M. Lowman and L.E. Trent Horne Jun 06, 2019 Aird & McBurney and Aird & Berlis are recognized in the IAM Patent 1000 – The World's Leading Patent Professionals 2019.
News Firm News
Aird & Berlis Joins Global Cannabis Partnership Melanie Cole May 27, 2019 Aird & Berlis is a proud new member of the Global Cannabis Partnership (GCP), a collaboration of leaders in the regulated adult-use cannabis industry.
News Firm News
Aird & Berlis Recognized in Managing Intellectual Property IP STARS Timothy M. Lowman and L.E. Trent Horne May 24, 2019 Aird & Berlis is proud to be recognized by Managing Intellectual Property in the IP STARS 2019 rankings as a notable Canadian firm for contentious trademark and patent matters.