skip to main content

Susan Wolburgh Jenah

Senior Advisor, Corporate Finance and Capital Markets Admitted to the Ontario Bar: 1982

Susan Wolburgh Jenah is a distinguished leader and expert in the Canadian securities industry. With over 30 years' experience as a senior regulator, executive and lawyer, Susan enriches the firm’s corporate finance practice, particularly in the areas of capital markets, investment management and registration and corporate governance.

Susan has significantly influenced the direction of capital markets regulation and standards of investor protection and education in Canada and internationally. She currently serves on a number of corporate and not-for-profit boards, including as Chair of the Aequitas NEO Exchange, a Governor of the Financial Industry Regulatory Authority (FINRA) and a member of the Board of Directors of Laurentian Bank of Canada and Aecon Group Inc. Formerly, Susan was the founding President and CEO of the Investment Industry Regulatory Organization of Canada (IIROC). Her tenure with the organization began after serving as the President and CEO of the Investment Dealers Association (IDA) where she was responsible for leading the merger of the IDA and Market Regulation Services Inc. to form IIROC. Before joining the IDA, Susan worked in progressively senior capacities at the Ontario Securities Commission (OSC), including as Vice Chair and as Acting Chair. Prior to her appointment as Vice Chair, she served as General Counsel and Director of International Affairs, representing the OSC on various standard-setting committees of the International Organization of Securities Commissions.

Susan is a frequent speaker at various media events, conferences and seminars in Canada and abroad.

Awards & Recognition

  • Osgoode Hall Law School Gold Key Alumni Award for Achievement, 2011
  • Institute of Corporate Directors ICD.D designation, representing a lifelong commitment to excellence in the boardroom, a desire to stay current and to be a more effective director, 2004

Professional Involvement

Professional Activities


  • Vanguard Investments Canada, Independent Review Committee, June 2017 – Present 
  • Aecon Group Inc., Board of Directors, Audit Committee and Corporate Governance, Nominating and Compensation Committee, June 2016 – Present
  • Humber River Hospital, Board of Directors, Nominating and Governance Committee and Chair of the Quality Assurance Committee, 2015 – Present
  • Aequitas NEO Exchange, Board Chair, 2015 – Present
  • Financial Industry Regulatory Authority (FINRA), Board of Governors, Regulatory Policy Committee and Chair of the Regulatory Operations Oversight Committee, 2014 – Present
  • Laurentian Bank of Canada, Board of Directors and Risk Management Committee, 2014 – Present
  • C.D. Howe Institute, National Advisory Council, 2014 – Present


  • Global Risk Institute in Financial Services, Board of Directors and Membership, HR & Compensation Committee, 2011 – 2017
  • Ryerson University, Ted Rogers School of Management, Dean's Advisory Council, 2014 – 2017
  • Ontario Retirement Pension Plan Administration Corporation (ORPP AC), Chair of the Initial Board of Directors, 2015 – 2016
  • Investment Industry Regulatory Organization of Canada (IIROC), President and CEO, 2007 – 2014
  • International Forum for Investor Education, Chair, 2012 – 2014
  • Institute of Corporate Directors, Board of Directors and Corporate Governance Committee, 2004 – 2011
  • Osgoode Hall Law School, Dean's Advisory Council, 2007 – 2009
  • Accounting Standards Oversight Council, 2004 – 2007
  • Ontario Securities Commission (OSC), Vice-Chair, 2004 – 2007; Head of International Affairs, 2000 – 2007; Acting Chair, 2005; Investor Education Fund Director, 2004 – 2006

Teaching Engagements

  • McMurtry Fellow and Adjunct Professor, Osgoode Hall Law School, 2015
  • Special Lecturer, “Corporate Finance,” University of Windsor, Faculty of Law, 2015 and 2016


  • Directors Education Program, Rotman School of Business and the Institute of Corporate Directors, 2004
  • JD, Osgoode Hall Law School, 1980
  • BA, University of Toronto, 1977