Back to all news
Aug 27, 2020
Firm News

65 Aird & Berlis Lawyers Recognized in The Best Lawyers in Canada 2021

Sherri M. Altshuler, Ian Aversa, Paige Backman, Neil Bass, Jack Bernstein, Rachel L. Blumenfeld, Donald Carr, Fred D. Cass, Ron W. Clark, Joanne C. Coldwell, Aaron Collins, Eileen P. K. Costello, Peter K. Czegledy, D. Robb English, Richard Epstein, Ed Esposto, Harry M. Fogul, Patricia A. Foran, Jill P. Fraser, Faruk Gafic, Marco Gammone, Tony Gioia, Francesco Gucciardo, Steven L. Graff, Tom Halinski, Patrick Harrington, Michael F. Horvat, Donald B. Johnston, Norman I. Kahn, Neill Kalvin, Steven Kelman, Richard M. Kimel, Martin Kovnats, Lorenzo Lisi, Leo F. Longo, John Mascarin, Derek J. McCallum, Bernie McGarva, Andrea McEwan, David P. Neligan, Margaret T. Nelligan, Dennis M. O'Leary, N. Jane Pepino, Joel M. Rose, Cynthia R. C. Sefton, Michael D. Smith, David Stevens, Sanj Sood, Scott Stoll, Louise R. Summerhill, Steve J. Tenai, Jennifer A. Wainwright, Hon. Peter Van Loan, Monty Warsh, Andrew Webster, Donald L. West, Barbara Worndl, Christopher J. Williams, Melanie A. Yach, Steven Zakem and Stephen Zolf

Aird & Berlis is proud to announce that 65 members of the firm were selected by their peers for inclusion in the 2021 edition of The Best Lawyers in Canada.

The firm is recognized across 39 practice areas and received 12 new listings*.

Alternative Dispute Resolution
Bernie McGarva

Asset-Based Lending Practice
Jill Fraser

Banking & Finance Law
Ian Aversa*
Aaron Collins*
Robb English*
Richard Epstein
Jill Fraser

Sherri Altshuler
Richard Kimel

Charities / Non-Profit Law
Rachel Blumenfeld*

Class Action Litigation
Steve Tenai

Commercial Leasing Law
Faruk Gafic*
Marco Gammone
Randy Hooke
Derek McCallum
Monty Warsh

Communications Law
Stephen Zolf

Construction Law
Bernie McGarva

Corporate & Commercial Litigation
Steve Tenai

Corporate Law
Richard Epstein
Steven Kelman
Margaret Nelligan

Defamation & Media Law
Stephen Zolf

Director & Officer Liability Practice
Steve Tenai

Energy Law
Ron Clark

Energy Regulatory Law
Fred Cass 
Dennis O’Leary*
David Stevens
Scott Stoll

Environmental Law
Scott Stoll

Equipment Finance Law
Jill Fraser - "Lawyer of the Year" (Toronto)

Expropriation Law
David Neligan

Gaming Law
Peter Czegledy
Joel Rose QC

Information Technology Law
Donald Johnston

Insolvency & Financial Restructuring Law
Robb English
Harry Fogul
Steven Graff

Intellectual Property Law
Trent Horne

Labour & Employment Law
Michael Horvat*
Lorenzo Lisi

Leveraged Buyouts & Private Equity Law
Tony Gioia

Mergers & Acquisitions Law
Steven Kelman*
Martin Kovnats
Donald West

Municipal Law
Eileen Costello
Patricia Foran
Tom Halinski
Patrick Harrington
Kim Kovar
Leo Longo
John Mascarin
Jane Pepino QC
Hon. Peter Van Loan*
Christopher Williams
Steven Zakem

Oil & Gas Law
Fred D. Cass

Privacy & Data Security Law
Paige Backman
Donald Johnston

Product Liability Law
Cynthia Sefton

Public Procurement Law
Donald Johnston

Real Estate Law
Norman Kahn
Neill Kalvin
Leo Longo
John Mascarin
Jane Pepino QC
Michael Smith
Hayden Solomons
Monty Warsh
Andrew Webster
Steven Zakem

Securities Law
Margaret Nelligan
Steve Tenai
Jennifer Wainwright

Sports Law
Paige Backman

Structured Finance Law
Jill Fraser

Tax Law
Neil Bass
Jack Bernstein
Francesco Gucciardo*
Louise Summerhill
Barbara Worndl

Technology Law
Paige Backman
Donald Johnston

Transportation Law
Joanne Coldwell
Sanj Sood*

Trusts & Estates
Jack Bernstein
Rachel Blumenfeld
Donald Carr QC
Ed Esposto
Andrea McEwan
Melanie Yach

Venture Capital Law
Tony Gioia*

Related News

News Firm News
Tim Lowman and Ken Clark Recognized as 2022 IP STARS Timothy M. Lowman and Ken Clark Jun 22, 2022 Two of our leading intellectual property lawyers have been recognized as Trademark stars in the 2... Two of our leading intellectual property lawyers have been recognized as Trademark stars in the 2022 edition of IP STARS, Managing Intellectual Property’s guide to the world's leading IP firms and practitioners.
News Firm News
Dasha Peregoudova Named Director of Sanctions and Outcomes for Abuse-Free Sport Daria (Dasha) Peregoudova Jun 20, 2022 Dasha Peregoudova, an associate and member of the firm’s Litigation & Dispute Resolution, Workpla... Dasha Peregoudova, an associate and member of the firm’s Litigation & Dispute Resolution, Workplace Law and Sports, Media & Entertainment Groups, has been named the Director of Sanctions and Outcomes for Abuse-Free Sport, Canada’s new independent safe sport mechanism.
News Firm News
Aird & Berlis Wins Outstanding Canadian Firm of the Year Award at 2022 Chambers Diversity & Inclusion Awards: North America Jun 10, 2022 Aird & Berlis is honoured to announce that it is the recipient of the 2022 Chambers Diversity & Inclusion: Outstanding Canadian Firm of the Year award.