skip to main content





Back to all news
Oct 18, 2018
Firm News

Multiple Wills – An Important Notification

A decision on September 11, 2018, by the Ontario Superior Court of Justice known as “Re Milne” may affect planning you have put in place to reduce the Estate Administration Tax (“probate tax”).

Where a person has multiple Wills – often referred to as Primary and Secondary Wills – prepared in order to reduce probate tax, the decision may put the planning in jeopardy. While the decision did not invalidate the concept of multiple Wills, it found that the particular wording in the Wills before the Court invalidated the Primary Will because of the manner in which the assets covered by that Will were defined. It is not clear whether this case will affect the validity of all types of multiple Wills.

While the decision is being appealed, it is not likely to be heard for some time.

If you have executed multiple Wills, we recommend that you contact your lawyer at Aird & Berlis or a member of our Estates Group.

Those members are:

Elisabeth Atsaidis 416.865.7753 eatsaidis@airdberlis.com
Jack Bernstein 416.865.7766 jbernstein@airdberlis.com
Rachel Blumenfeld 416.865.3413 rblumenfeld@airdberlis.com
Stuart Bollefer 416.865.3079 sbollefer@airdberlis.com
Donald Carr 416.865.3429 dcarr@airdberlis.com
Ed Esposto 416.865.7786 eesposto@airdberlis.com
David Malach 416.865.7702 dmalach@airdberlis.com
Andrea McEwan 416.865.3444 amcewan@airdberlis.com
Marni Pernica 416.865.7738 mpernica@airdberlis.com
Elise Pulver 416.865.7758 epulver@airdberlis.com
Melanie Yach 416.865.7770 myach@airdberlis.com

Areas of Expertise

Related News

News Firm News
Aird & Berlis Wins CBS Summer Law Challenge Aaron Silver Oct 11, 2018 Aird & Berlis defended its title and won the Canadian Blood Services 2018 Summer Law Challenge for having the highest number of donations!
News Firm News
Doing Business in Canada - September 2018 Oct 05, 2018 Aird & Berlis LLP is pleased to present the March 2018 edition of Doing Business in Canada. This publication was developed to provide a general overview of Canadian federal and Ontario law, and is intended for those planning to start, acquire or invest in a business in Canada.
News Firm News
Aird & Berlis Awarded Best Mental Health Initiative at 2018 National HR Awards Steven Zakem, Ari Blicker, Corrine Kennedy, Reena Kotecha and Georgia Rennick Sep 28, 2018 Aird & Berlis is proud to have been selected as the winner of the 2018 Medavie Blue Cross Best Mental Health Initiative Award. Founded by Canadian HR Reporter and Thomson Reuters, the National HR Awards honour companies, HR departments and professionals across the country. Click he...